top of page

Platonic solids

A platonic solid is a three-dimensional shape whose faces are all congruent regular polygons (two-dimensional shapes bounded by straight line segments) where the same number of faces meet at every angle.

The Greeks are believed to have been the first to discover that there are only five platonic solids. These are:

Tetrahedron (three triangles meet at each vertex) Octahedron (four triangles meet at each vertex) Icosahedron (five triangles meet at each vertex) Hexahedron or Cube (three squares meet at each vertex) Dodecahedron (three pentagons meet at each vertex)

In his work Plato linked the five platonic solids to the elements. Tetrahedron represents fire (also spirit), the cube earth, the octahedron is air (also can be seen as mental planes), icosahedron represents water (emotions) and the dodecahedron represents the constellations and heavens (universe). As a group the platonic solids are in balance and can be used in healing or simply in your home or place of work to give focus to the idea of bringing the four elements and the fifth universal element (some may call God) into balance within you.

Platonic Solids and Sacred Geometry

Platonic Solids represent the sacred geometry that exists in all of nature.

There are five main three dimensional shapes which make up the geometric shaped Platonic solids. Each having specific (mathematical) structural qualities, an associated element and a corresponding state which represent specific “forms”.

Tetrahedron The tetrahedron has four triangular faces, its element is fire and “Divine spark”. o

Creativity, original ideas and inspiration. .

Hexahedron The hexahedron has six square faces, its element is earth and its state is solid which represent organised and structured ideas and grounded strength.

Octahedron The octahedron has eight equilateral triangular faces, its element is air and its state is gas which represent mental processes.

Mental focus, positive thoughts, ideas and outlook.

Icosahedron The icosahedron has 20 triangular faces, its element is water and its state is fluid/liquid which represents emotions.

Emotional balance and flexibility.

Dodecahedron The dodecahedron has 12 regular pentagonal faces, its element is the ether and its state is spirit which represents the Universe and connection to all that is (wholeness).

Connection between the spiritual and the Grounded.

We have one set of Platonic solids available. Although keeping in mind the structures of these shapes when choosing crystals is always good. Pyramids, spheres, cubes and stars are powerful healing sacred geometry.

This six piece set contains the five elemental Platonic Solids, plus the Sphere. The five main Platonic solids represent the five elements - fire, earth, air, water and ether. These geometric shapes are believed to repeat throughout the known universe, from molecules to large structures and beyond.

The Sphere is perhaps the purest and most perfect form. A Sphere has no beginning and no end, and represents all-encompassing unity and equality. It also radiates energy equally in all directions. It symbolises complete acceptance and represents both the microcosm and the wider cosmos.

247 views0 comments